For all your dictionary needs!
Tip. You can look up words, expressions, names, titles...

Allied-occupied Germany


Allied-occupied Germany: The Allied powers who defeated Nazi Germany in World War II asserted governmental authority over all territory of the German Reich which lay west of the Oder–Neisse line, having formally abolished the German government of Adolf Hitler. The four powers divided Germany into four occupation zones for administrative purposes. This division was ratified at the Potsdam Conference. In Autumn 1944 the United States, United Kingdom, and Soviet Union had agreed on the zones by the London Protocol. The powers detached the German eastern territories, lying east of the Oder-Neisse line, from Germany and awarded it to Poland and the USSR, resulting in the "shifting westward" of Poland's borders back to as they were before 1722. In the closing weeks of fighting in Europe, United States forces had pushed beyond the agreed boundaries for the future zones of occupation, in some places by as much as 200 miles. The so-called line of contact between Soviet and American forces at the end of hostilities, mostly lying eastward of the July 1945-established inner German border was temporary.

  • also known as 同盟國軍事佔領德國
  • founded in (70 years ago)

Online dictionaries and encyclopedias with entries for Allied-occupied Germany

Click on a label to prioritize search results according to that topic:

Share this page

Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy
Keyword Tool | Romanian-English Dictionary