For all your dictionary needs!
Tip. You can look up words, expressions, names, titles...

Kantō region


The Kantō region is a geographical area of Honshu, the largest island of Japan. The region includes the Greater Tokyo Area and encompasses seven prefectures: Gunma, Tochigi, Ibaraki, Saitama, Tokyo, Chiba, and Kanagawa. Within its boundaries, slightly more than 45 percent of the land area is the Kantō Plain. The rest consists of the hills and mountains that form the land borders. In official census count on October 1, 2010 by the Japan Statistics Bureau, the population was 42,607,376 amounting to approximately one third of the total population of Japan.

  • also known as Kanto region, Kanto
  • part of Honshu

Printed encyclopedias and other books with definitions for Kantō region

Click on a title to look inside that book (if available):

Google previewThe SAGE International Encyclopedia of Travel and Tourism (2017)

by Linda L. Lowry

The Hanshin Expressway is a system of 16 routes covering 240 kilometers in the Kantō region. Fixed links are crucial to ensuring the mobility of people and goods between different islands. The Honshū-Shikoku bridge system is a group of ...

Online dictionaries and encyclopedias with entries for Kantō region

Click on a label to prioritize search results according to that topic:

Share this page


Go to the usage examples of Kantō region to see it in context!

Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy
Keyword Tool | Romanian-English Dictionary