For all your dictionary needs!
Header of Rain

Rain

The following statistics are based on the British National Corpus, so they are representative for the British English.

Distribution of usage frequency for the most common synonyms of the noun rain:

rainfallrain

The word rain is considered to be an easy one, according to the Dale-Chall word list, which includes 3000 words that all fourth-grade American students should know and understand.

Video footage: Rain loop
Play/pauseBuy footageFind more

Definition of the noun rain

What does rain mean as a name of something?

Rain is one of the top 1000 most common nouns in the English language.

noun - plural: rains

  1. water falling in drops from vapor condensed in the atmosphere
  2. drops of fresh water that fall as precipitation from clouds
  3. anything happening rapidly or in quick successive

Alternative definition of the noun rain

noun

  1. Condensed water falling from a cloud.
  2. [figuratively] Any matter moving or falling, usually through air, and especially if liquid or otherwise figuratively identifiable with raindrops.
  3. [figuratively] An instance of particles or larger pieces of matter moving or falling through air.

Definition of the verb rain

What does rain mean as a doing word?

Rain is one of the top 1000 most common verbs in the English language.

verb - inflections: rained | raining | rains

  1. precipitate as rain

Phrases with Rain

Phrases starting with the word Rain:

  1. Rain Hat
  2. Rain Man
  3. Rain Men
  4. Rain Off
  5. rain out
  6. Rain Crow
  7. rain date
  8. rain down
  9. rain gage
  10. rain tree
  11. rain-wash
  12. rain check
  13. rain cloud
  14. rain dance
  15. Rain Delay
  16. Rain Frogs

Phrases ending with the word Rain:

  1. acid rain
  2. Black Rain
  3. First Rain
  4. heavy rain

View more phrases with the word Rain in thesaurus!

Printed encyclopedias and other books with definitions for Rain

Click on a title to look inside that book (if available):

Google previewThe Dancing Dead (2012)

Ritual and Religion among the Kapsiki/Higi of North Cameroon and Northeastern Nigeria by Walter E. A. van Beek

The rain ritual has an additional dimension since it has a close association with the area's major ritual places, Sukur and primarily Gudur. Like any “normal” phenomenon, rain is a vulnerable asset, a boon that comes when nothing interferes.

Google previewWeather Radar Polarimetry (2016)

by Guifu Zhang

Rain is the most common type of precipitation and was also the first to be identified by radar (Bent et al. 1943).

Convective rain refers to that produced from local convection with a small horizontal scale of tens of kilometers.

Google previewThe Physical Universe (2016)

Physics, Physics by CTI Reviews

Rain is a major component of the water cycle and is responsible for depositing most of the fresh water on the Earth. It provides suitable conditions for many types of ecosystem, as well as water for hydroelectric power plants and crop irrigation.

Google previewChapter 12: Atmospheric Hydrology (2016)

Single chapter from the eBook Understanding Physical Geography by Michael Pidwirny

Rain is any liquid deposit that falls from the atmosphere to the surface and has a diameter greater than 0.5 mm (0.02 in).

Google previewThe House on Tradd Street (2008)

by Karen White

Readers & Writers, Ink “After the Rain is an elegantly enchanting Southern novel.. .. Fans will recognize the beauty of White's evocative prose.”—WordWeaving.com “In the tradition of Catherine Anderson and Deborah Smith, Karen White's After ...

Google previewNarrative Space and Time (2014)

Representing Impossible Topologies in Literature by Elana Gomel

Century Rain is a postmodern lost world novel which undercuts the notion of progress implicit in its classic predecessors. Verity's consternation at the unpredictable agency of the inhabitants of the quantum sphere who refuse to be a mere ...

Google previewThe Publishers Weekly (1879)

The great fact about the rain is that it is the most beneficent of all the operations of nature ; more immediately than sunlight even,

Google previewThe Kingfisher Science Encyclopedia (2000)

by Charles Taylor

Rain and snow Rain and snow are two forms in which water falls to the Earth from the sky. The water they supply is vital for the survival and growth of plants and animals. Water that falls from clouds is called precipitation. In one form of ...

Google previewContinuum Encyclopedia of Native Art (2003)

Worldview, Symbolism, and Culture in Africa, Oceania, and North America by Hope B. Werness

Rain. Indigenous people understandably attach great importance to rain, particularly those who live in arid climates. The over 300 Hopi KACHINA spirits are spiritual intermediaries between the people and the gods associated with rain and ...

Online dictionaries and encyclopedias with entries for Rain

Click on a label to prioritize search results according to that topic:

Photos about Rain

Click on an item to view that photo:

Rain

If you need related images for an article or a report, you can download stock photos:
Small photo of Drops of RainSmall photo of rain rain go awaySmall photo of Rain Rain RainSmall photo of rain rain go awaySmall photo of Rain Room RainSmall photo of Falling raindrops footage animation in slow motion on dark black background with fog, lightened from top, rain animation with start and end, perfect for film, digital composition, projection mappingSmall photo of rain flows down from a roof down More...

Video language resources about Rain

Click on an item to play that video:

View more videos about The Rain, Acid rain, rain tree, Black Rain, Rain Dance, Let It Rain, Driving Rain, Make It Rain, Rain Cats and Dogs, and Rain Dogs and Cats.

See also the pronunciation examples of Rain!

Sign language

Click on an item to play that video:

Quotes about Rain

rain rain rain
oh rain
you have seen that a roses almost dried
i don't want to it happened
because i was waiting for flower buds bloom

rain rain rain
oh rain
please coming soon
don't make me cry

Copyright © 2012 (Sari Mavi)
more quotes about rain...

Scrabble value of R1A1I1N1

The value of this 4-letter word is 4 points. It is included in the first and second editions of the Official Scrabble Players Dictionary.

Anagrams of RAIN

What do you get if you rearrange the letters?

See also the blanagrams of Rain!

Share this page

Next...

Go to the usage examples of Rain to see it in context!


Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy
Keyword Tool | Romanian-English Dictionary